Hand-held cell phone use while driving has been prohibited in California
since July of 2008. As
San Diego injury lawyers, we are pleased to report that the ban is saving lives, according to the
California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS).
Analysis, conducted by the Safe Transportation Research and Education Center
(SafeTREC) at the University of California, Berkeley, showed that, when
looking at state crash records two years before and two years after the
hand-held ban went into effect, overall traffic deaths declined 22 percent
while hand-held cell phone driver deaths went down 47 percent. Similar
results were shown for hands-free cell phone use as well as injuries in
“These results suggest that the law banning hand-held cell phone
use while driving had a positive impact on reducing traffic fatalities
and injuries,” said Dr. David Ragland, Director of SafeTREC.
New data from the Department of Motor Vehicles that show that the state
is cracking down on cell phone ban violators. In 2011, there were 460,487
hand-held cell phone convictions – up 22 percent from 361,260 convictions
in 2010 and 52 percent from 301,833 in 2009. The cost of a ticket for
a first offense is at least $159, and $279 for subsequent offenses.
As we previously reported on this blog, an OTS statewide opinion survey
reported that 62 percent of respondents stated that texting and talking
are the biggest safety concerns on California roadways. In addition, 84
percent agreed that cell phone conversations or texting while driving
are the most serious distractions while driving.
If you or someone you love has been seriously injured in a
San Diego car accident, don’t hesitate to
a San Diego personal injury attorney at the Law Offices of Robert Vaage
for a free consultation.