Bring An Equalizer to the Fight. Choose a Firm That Was Created to Advocate for Victims.

Is California's Cell Phone Ban Working?

Hand-held cell phone use while driving has been prohibited in California since July of 2008. As San Diego injury lawyers, we are pleased to report that the ban is saving lives, according to the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS).

Analysis, conducted by the Safe Transportation Research and Education Center (SafeTREC) at the University of California, Berkeley, showed that, when looking at state crash records two years before and two years after the hand-held ban went into effect, overall traffic deaths declined 22 percent while hand-held cell phone driver deaths went down 47 percent. Similar results were shown for hands-free cell phone use as well as injuries in both categories.

“These results suggest that the law banning hand-held cell phone use while driving had a positive impact on reducing traffic fatalities and injuries,” said Dr. David Ragland, Director of SafeTREC.

New data from the Department of Motor Vehicles that show that the state is cracking down on cell phone ban violators. In 2011, there were 460,487 hand-held cell phone convictions – up 22 percent from 361,260 convictions in 2010 and 52 percent from 301,833 in 2009. The cost of a ticket for a first offense is at least $159, and $279 for subsequent offenses.

As we previously reported on this blog, an OTS statewide opinion survey reported that 62 percent of respondents stated that texting and talking are the biggest safety concerns on California roadways. In addition, 84 percent agreed that cell phone conversations or texting while driving are the most serious distractions while driving.

If you or someone you love has been seriously injured in a San Diego car accident, don’t hesitate to contact a San Diego personal injury attorney at the Law Offices of Robert Vaage for a free consultation.